Alliance of Hispanic Serving Research Universities

UTSA is a proud member of the Alliance of Hispanic Serving Research Universities (HSRU), a group of powerhouse research institutions that are working together to improve Hispanic representation in the highest levels of research in America.

Launched in June 2022, the Alliance presents unique opportunities to make rapid progress in advancing Hispanic enrollment in doctoral programs and broadening pathways to the professorate.

The Alliance has two specific, primary goals:

  • Double the number of Hispanic doctoral students enrolled at member universities
  • Increase by 20% the Hispanic professoriate at member universities

The Alliance pursues federal and philanthropic funding opportunities to further advance its goals and to collaborate closely around research opportunities in STEM fields with significant underrepresentation.

UTSA intentionally leverages its membership in the Alliance to build on its efforts to grow and diversify its doctoral programs and faculty. The university’s efforts have already garnered national recognition, with experts saying that UTSA’s progress could provide insights for public colleges around the country.

UTSA President Taylor Eighmy speaking at the June the Alliance of Hispanic Serving Research Universities announcement on June 9, 2022

“Hispanic Serving Institutions are founded in opportunity, equity and inclusion. Our membership in the Alliance aligns closely with that mission, our strategic plan, and our trajectory here in San Antonio and South Texas.”

– President Taylor Eighmy

Alliance Membership

HSRU is made up of federally designated Hispanic Serving Institutions that are in the top 5% of research universities in the United States – classified as R1 institutions by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education.

Members include:

  • Arizona State University
  • City University of New York Graduate Center
  • Florida International University
  • Texas Tech University
  • The University of Arizona
  • The University of New Mexico
  • The University of Texas at Arlington

  • The University of Texas at Austin
  • The University of Texas at El Paso
  • The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of California, Riverside
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of California, Santa Cruz

  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Colorado, Denver
  • University of Houston
  • University of Illinois Chicago
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • University of North Texas